Orca Book Publishers

Browse by Category


Graphic Novel 9-12
Pages: 160
Themes: graphic novel, adventure, Victoria, BC, history, young sleuths
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers
Pub Date: 17/Sep/2019
Bookmark and Share
When a quiet seaside town is suddenly overrun by hundreds of giant monsters, two young sisters are the only ones prepared to handle the situation. Using their keen interest in architecture, local history, folklore and gymnastics, the two girls attempt to not only stop the monsters' rampage but also figure out why it's happening. The story is set in Victoria, British Columbia, and the city's impressive history and creepy folklore add intrigue to the proceedings, as more and more monstrous guests arrive on this unceded Lekwungen Territory.

The Monster Sisters, Enid Jupiter and Lyra Gotham, are two young sleuths in the vein of Nancy Drew or Scooby Doo, doing superheroic deeds while learning about colonialism on Indigenous land. Using maps, true facts and witty asides, this graphic novel is as much of an adventure to read as it is for the characters to experience. This is book one in a two-book series. The second will come out in spring 2020.

School Library Journal
“The Monster Sisters, are rabble-rousing, smart-talking kids...The art is engaging and fun, with full-page monster attacks, action-packed vine swinging, a section on Morse code, and plenty of cool maps...For those who love Canadian history and courageous kid detectives battling giant monsters.”
Publishers Weekly
“Promising first installment...the memorable characters and clever visuals should propel readers to the planned sequel.”
Kirkus Reviews
“A fascinating mix of intriguing elements: imaginative monster battles, fun historical facts, a gently spooky mystery, and a warm emphasis on sisterhood.”

You might also be interested in:

Modo: Ember's End
By (author): Arthur Slade   Illustrated by: Christopher Steininger
$14.95
Dalen and Gole
Illustrated by: Mike Deas
$9.95