Sleeper

  • Pages:240
  • Publisher:Orca Book Publishers
  • Themes:Cambridge Five, spies, James Bond, England, adventure
  •  
  • Pub Date:10/01/2014
  • Age Groups:Fiction Ages 9-12
  • Lexile:660L
  • ATOS:4.7
  • Fountas & Pinnell Text Level Gradient:Y
Paperback
9781459805439
$10.95 USD
PDF
9781459805446 DOWNLOAD HELP
$8.99 USD
EPUB
9781459805453 DOWNLOAD HELP
$8.99 USD
Audiobook
9781459808560 DOWNLOAD HELP
$19.99 USD
DJ jets across the Atlantic to England to follow a series of obscure clues and symbols he hopes will reveal the truth about his grandfather. In London, he stays with Doris, the elderly woman he climbed Mount Kilimanjaro with. Laid up with a broken ankle, Doris has her grandchild, Charlie, offer assistance. Charlie—short for Charlotte—is a beautiful model who is romantically (and secretly) linked to a member of the British Royal Family. Spies, guns, double agents, the Cambridge Five and a vintage E-Type Jag are a few of the things DJ and Charlie encounter on an adventure that makes climbing Kilimanjaro look like a walk in the park.

Sleeper is the sequel to both Jungle Land, part of The Seven Prequels and Between Heaven and Earth, part of Seven (The Series).
"This thrill-a-minute series will hook reluctant readers as well as fans of James Bond and Jason Bourne."
– School Library Journal
"Sleeper will be the answer to all 'Which book should I read next?' questions this upcoming school year. It has something for everyone—strong male character, strong female character, mystery, spies, action, travel, fast cars, good role models, history and, yes, even a touch of a love story. Everyone should read Sleeper and when you read one, you'll be sure to read them all!"
– Hot Cup of Tea and a Good Book blog
"Part Holmes-ian mystery and part James Bond adventure, DJ's quest requires both intellect and an unflappable resolve...[A] solid nod to the British spy and mystery legacy. A fast-paced, enjoyable entrée to this mystery/adventure series."
– Kirkus Reviews
"The setting is vibrant, and the thrills are a mile-a-minute. Fans of James Bond, Jason Bourne, and other action/espionage heroes will find much to love in Walters’ latest book for young readers. Highly Recommended."
– CM Magazine
"What a great way to take readers from David McLean directing the actions of his grandsons, as he did in the Seven Series, to the boys looking to new adventures, pursuing their own suspicions and curiosity about their grandfather, and embarking on adventures that will put their intrepid natures to the test in more daring situations. Sleeper introduces the theme of espionage and hidden identities in an intriguing manner...[It] is a propitious beginning for my reading of The Seven Sequels. Make it one of yours too."
– CanLit for Little Canadians blog
"Flashy, quick and fun...A perfect Robert Ludlum-esque redux for the middle-grade set."
– Quill & Quire