Orca Book Publishers

Browse by Category

Legends of the Four Host First Nations
Adult Nonfiction
Pages: 110
Publisher: Theytus Books
Pub Date: 22/Dec/2009
Bookmark and Share
The sacred legends of four First Nations—Lil'wat, Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh—have been passed down from generation to generation through the Elders and are integral to the teachings and Oral Traditions of First Nations peoples. These stories link people to the land and to each other, passing on Traditional Knowledge and history. For the first time, these sacred teachings are collected in an anthology of stories willingly shared by the respected storytellers of each nation and adorned with spectacular imagery and art. These legends—which range from creation stories to naming stories—add to our knowledge of ourselves and each other.


Next Generation Indie Book Awards  | 2010 | Short-listed
San Francisco Book Festival Competition-Photography/Art  | 2010 | Winner
Benjamin Franklin Award - silver medal  | 2010 | Winner