PW10 Orca Canada Logo

Please log in to your Orca Book Publishers account.
Once logged in, your shopping cart will be saved if you need to leave the site before completing checkout. Your shipping addresses and discount codes will also be saved for future visits.

Search Orca Book Publishers
  • My Heart Fills with Happiness
  • Wolf Island

Subject to Change
By author: Karen Nesbitt
Selling Points: homosexuality, delinquency, alcohol abuse, brothers, the Holocaust, homophobia, high school, poverty, loyalty
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers
Pub Date: Feb/28/2017
Pages: 288
Fiction Ages 12+
Price:  $14.95
Bookmark and Share

Declan's life in small-town Quebec is defined by his parents' divorce, his older brother's delinquency and his own lackluster performance at school, which lands him with a tutor he calls Little Miss Perfect. He likes his job at the local ice rink, and he has a couple of good buddies, but his father's five-year absence is a constant source of pain and anger. When he finds out the truth about his parents' divorce, he is forced to reconsider everything he has believed about his family and himself.
Montreal Review of Books - July 12, 2017
"Nesbitt makes adept use of her experience working with teens. Declan's convincing observations about the world around him are sharp, but he still comes off like a real teenage boy."
Association of Jewish Libraries - June 20, 2017
"Nesbitt's debut novel brilliantly captures the anger, angst, and alienation left by a socially marginalized teenager struggling to make sense of his fractured family relationships. The book touches on an aspect of the Holocaust that many young people may not be aware of. A smattering of profane language and scenes involving marijuana use and alcohol abuse provide a gritty sense of reality to this finely written book."
CM Magazine - March 20, 2017
"Vividly illustrates the confusion, elation, pain, and self-doubt typical of adolescence. Nesbitt does a great job of personalizing issues such as homosexuality, divorce, substance abuse, racism, and poverty...It is touching to see how [Declan's] character develops and changes...All in all, Subject to Change is a gritty, touching, well-told story with great character development."
Resource Links - February 15, 2017
"This is a realistically portrayed segment of the teenage population that is under represented in literature. The author...seems to have significant insight to the adolescent characters."
School Library Journal - February 1, 2017
"Nesbitt has crafted a sensitive portrait of a teen's uncertain relationship with a gay parent...Fans of John Corey Whaley and John Green will enjoy this realistic young adult story."

Awards

White Pine Award, short-listed  CA  2018
Quebec Writers' Federation Prize for Children's and Young Adult Literature, short-listed  CA  2017

Read an Excerpt:

Download Subject to Change - Chapter 1

Ebooks are also available from the following retailers:




Your Cart

Empty




How do you use Orca books in the classroom?
Leave your feedback and win books.



Socialize With Us: