Orca Book Publishers

Browse by Category


Fiction Ages 12+
Pages: 288
Themes: homosexuality, delinquency, alcohol abuse, brothers, the Holocaust, homophobia, high school, poverty, loyalty
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers
Pub Date: 28/02/2017
Bookmark and Share
Declan's life in small-town Quebec is defined by his parents' divorce, his older brother's delinquency and his own lackluster performance at school, which lands him with a tutor he calls Little Miss Perfect. He likes his job at the local ice rink, and he has a couple of good buddies, but his father's five-year absence is a constant source of pain and anger. When he finds out the truth about his parents' divorce, he is forced to reconsider everything he has believed about his family and himself.

Jewish Book Council - November 17, 2017
"The characters are realistic and sympathetic…The story rings true and the reader roots for Declan as he becomes more mature. Readers ages 13 and up will enjoy this story of a boy who faces his problems with the help of family and friends."
Montreal Review of Books - July 12, 2017
"Nesbitt makes adept use of her experience working with teens. Declan's convincing observations about the world around him are sharp, but he still comes off like a real teenage boy."
Association of Jewish Libraries - June 20, 2017
"Nesbitt's debut novel brilliantly captures the anger, angst, and alienation left by a socially marginalized teenager struggling to make sense of his fractured family relationships. The book touches on an aspect of the Holocaust that many young people may not be aware of. A smattering of profane language and scenes involving marijuana use and alcohol abuse provide a gritty sense of reality to this finely written book."
CM Magazine - March 20, 2017
"Vividly illustrates the confusion, elation, pain, and self-doubt typical of adolescence. Nesbitt does a great job of personalizing issues such as homosexuality, divorce, substance abuse, racism, and poverty...It is touching to see how [Declan's] character develops and changes...All in all, Subject to Change is a gritty, touching, well-told story with great character development."
Resource Links - February 15, 2017
"This is a realistically portrayed segment of the teenage population that is under represented in literature. The author...seems to have significant insight to the adolescent characters."
School Library Journal - January 2, 2017
"Nesbitt has crafted a sensitive portrait of a teen's uncertain relationship with a gay parent...Fans of John Corey Whaley and John Green will enjoy this realistic young adult story."

Awards

White Pine Award  | 2018 | Short-listed
Quebec Writers' Federation Prize for Children's and Young Adult Literature  | 2017 | Winner
Bank Street College Best Children's Books of the Year  | 2018 | Commended

Resources for Teachers:

Orca Book Publishers produces a number of tools and resources to help teachers, librarians, reading specialists and other education professionals enrich the teaching and learning experience. Please visit our Teacher Resources website to access and download materials.

Classroom Materials:

Classroom Projects

Readers Theater Scripts

Teachers' Guides

Resource Guides

Research and Support Materials:

Common Core

Reading Levels

Reaching Reluctant Readers:

Best Books for Struggling Readers

Webinars

Reading Strategies